Skip To Main Content

singhThe National Academy of Engineering (NAE) elected Dr. Chanan Singh, Regents Professor and Irma Runyon Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, honoring his contributions to the advancement of theory, practice and education in electric power system reliability.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

“As an administrator and former department head, Dr. Singh has demonstrated great leadership in securing resources for major expansion of the faculty in our department,” Dr. Miroslav Begovic, department head and Carolyn S. & Tommie E. Lohman ‘59 Professor said yesterday. “I can hardly imagine a more deserving recipient of the high recognition that was bestowed upon him, the prestigious membership in the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.”

Singh is former department head and an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow, internationally recognized as an expert on the reliability and security of power systems. He joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1978.

Other honors Singh has received include the Merit Award by the Probabilistic Methods Applied to Power Systems (PMAPS) International Society, the IEEE Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award and the Texas A&M University Association of Former Students' University-level Distinguished Achievement Award for Research. He has previously held the J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship II, the Halliburton Professorship and the Dresser Professorship, and the University of Saskatchewan awarded him a D.Sc. in 1998 for his research contributions. In 2010, he was the inaugural recipient of the IEEE-PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award.

Singh will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 30, 2018.