Skip To Main Content
Dr. Jaime Grunlan
Dr. Jaime Grunlan was elected to the 2023 class of American Chemical Society Fellows. | Image: Texas A&M Engineering

Dr. Jaime Grunlan has been honored with the prestigious status of Fellow by the American Chemical Society (ACS), joining a select group of researchers recognized for their exceptional contributions to the science or profession of chemistry.

Grunlan, Leland T. Jordan ’29 Chair Professor in the J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University, said his nomination for the fellowship alone was an honor. In addition to recognizing the scientific and professional achievements of those elected, the status of Fellow also acknowledges recipients’ excellent volunteer service to the ACS community, according to the society.

“This is among the most significant honors I’ve been granted in my career,” Grunlan said. “It’s equivalent to winning the National Science Foundation CAREER award when I was an assistant professor and receiving an honorary doctorate from the University of South Brittany — requiring approval from the French government — a few years ago. The roster of Fellows is truly a who’s who in the broad world of chemistry. I still cannot believe it’s real.”

His significant contributions include pioneering research in a new field of environmentally-benign flame retardant nanocoatings, opening new possibilities for protecting telephone and transmission line poles to prevent forest fires, treating textiles for military use and reducing the flammability in various foams and fabrics used in transportation including planes, trains and cars. Additionally, his work has significantly advanced gas barrier thin films and organic thermoelectric materials.

Grunlan is an active member of ACS, serving in various leadership positions and collaborating to organize workshops and symposia for the society.

The ACS created the designation of Fellow in 2009. Since its inception, less than 1,500 of the organization’s more than 170,000 members have ever been awarded the distinction.