Skip To Main Content
Dr. Yue Kuo head shot
Dr. Yue Kuo is the holder of the Joe M. Nesbitt Professorship in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering. | Image: Texas A&M Engineering
Dr. Yue Kuo, Nesbitt professor in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University, is the 2022 recipient of the prestigious Edward Goodrich Acheson Award from The Electrochemical Society (ECS). Kuo received the highest ECS honor for contributions to the advancement of solid state science and technology and leadership.
“It is a great honor to receive it,” Kuo said.
Kuo’s research focuses on nano and microelectronics with special interests in semiconductors and thin films. He aims to create high-performance, reliable, manufacturable devices for current and future applications. His dedication to the advancement of these studies led him to receive this and many other prestigious awards from professional societies, governments and industries. Kuo recently delivered a keynote speech at the 17th International Thin-Film Transistor Conference in Guildford, United Kingdom.
The Edward Goodrich Acheson Award was established in 1928 after its namesake, Edward Goodrich Acheson, an American chemist. He served as the sixth ECS president and invented the Acheson process used today to make silicon carbide.
Original charter members of the ECS in 1902 include Herbert Dow (The Dow Chemical Company founder), M. Hall (inventor of the Hall process for the manufacture of aluminum), Edward Weston (founder of Weston Instruments), G. Acheson (inventor of commercial graphite process) and in 1903, Thomas Edison. Currently, ECS has 10,000 members from 80 countries, including industry pioneers such as Gordon E. Moore and distinguished scholars, as well as 19 Nobel laureates.
Kuo has been a member of ECS for more than 30 years. He was selected as an ECS Fellow in 1999, received the Electronics and Photonics Division Award in 2007 and the Gordon E. Moore Medal of Outstanding Achievement in Solid Science and Technology in 2015.
He served as president of ECS from 2018-19. He also served as technical editor for the Journal of the Electrochemical Society, the Journal of Electrochemical Society Solid-State Letters, and the Journal of the Solid-State Science and Technology.
Kuo will receive the award at the 242nd ECS meeting on Oct. 9-13 in Atlanta, Georgia.