Skip To Main Content
Dr. Ali Erdemir with members of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts at his induction ceremony.
Dr. Ali Erdemir was officially inducted into the European Academy of Sciences and Arts on July 2, 2022, in Salzburg, Austria. | Image: Courtesy of Dr. Ali Erdemir

Dr. Ali Erdemir was elected to the 2022 class of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (EASA) members. 

Academy members are elected for their outstanding achievements in science, arts and governance and hold exceptional standing in society as a result of their scientific work, publications or leadership.

Erdemir noted the 35 years he has focused on enhancing the efficiency, reliability and environmental sustainability of mechanical systems as key to his recognition by EASA. 

"Being elected to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts is a great honor," said Erdemir. "It reflects my achievements in science and engineering through advancing the frontiers of surface engineering, tribology, materials and mechanical engineering fields aimed at reducing the energy and carbon footprints of all moving mechanical systems, thus helping with global sustainability."

Erdemir serves as the Halliburton Chair in Engineering Professor in the J. Mike Walker '66 Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the World Academy of Ceramics and the Science Academy of Turkey. He is a fellow of numerous organizations, including the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers, the American Vacuum Society and ASM International. 

"I am very grateful to my friends, peers and leadership at Texas A&M and in our department for their unwavering help and support and for providing me the great opportunities to further excel in my field," Erdemir said.

Founded in 1990, EASA has greater than 2,000 members, including more than 30 Nobel Prize laureates. Erdemir was officially inducted as a member on July 2 at the organization's annual inauguration ceremony in Salzburg, Austria.