Skip To Main Content
several glass awards adorned with Society of Petroleum Engineers logos arranged on a tabletop
The Society of Petroleum Engineers recognized five petroleum engineering faculty in 2021 for their outstanding work. | Image: Courtesy of the Society of Petroleum Engineers

Petroleum engineering faculty members at Texas A&M University and Texas A&M University at Qatar were named international and regional award recipients by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE). Awardees included four faculty members from the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering and one from the Texas A&M University at Qatar.

Dr. George Moridis, professor and Robert L. Whiting Chair in Petroleum Engineering, received honorary membership, the highest honor given by the SPE. Honorary members demonstrate distinguished scientific or engineering achievements within the scientific or engineering scope of SPE.

“I am honored and humbled by this award, which would not have been possible without the support and working environment of the faculty, staff and students of the petroleum engineering department of Texas A&M University,” said Moridis.

Dr. Oliver Mullins, adjunct professor, was awarded the Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal for his distinguished achievement in identifying and developing new technology and concepts. The award comes with an automatic distinguished membership. Mullins, a science advisor and Schlumberger Fellow, is the originator of reservoir fluid geodynamics, a new technical discipline he will introduce to students this fall in the department.

"I am very grateful for the opportunities provided to me by Schlumberger and for the recognition from the SPE," said Mullins. "I have benefitted enormously working closely with so many skilled, energetic experts across this great industry."

These award winners are a verification of the hard work and energy our outstanding faculty demonstrate year in and year out.

Dr. Jeff Spath

Dr. J.C. Cunha, professor of engineering practice, received the DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal, an international award highlighting exemplary service to the SPE and the petroleum industry. He also received automatic distinguished membership as part of the award.

"I am honored to receive these two awards and to be on the same shortlist as some of the greatest professionals in our industry and academia," said Cunha. "Some years ago, I had the privilege of serving SPE as a distinguished lecturer and as a member of the board of directors, but receiving these awards is certainly one of the most important moments of my professional career."

Dr. Eduardo Gildin, Class of 1975 DVG Developmental Professor, received distinguished membership for his achievements in the petroleum industry and the academic community.

“I am honored to be recognized by my peers and be part of this selected group of giants in our field," said Gildin. "It is not only a milestone in my career but also evidence that solidifies Texas A&M as a premier institution in petroleum engineering” 

Dr. Albertus Retnanto, interim program chair and professor of practice at Qatar, received the Middle East & North Africa Region Distinguished Achievement for Petroleum Engineering Faculty. This regional award recognizes his exemplary work in education. Retnanto will officially become the program chair at Qatar on Sept. 1.

"I am truly honored to receive this award and grateful to my department at Texas A&M and all my students who always support me," said Retnanto.

"These award winners are a verification of the hard work and energy our outstanding faculty demonstrate year in and year out," said Dr. Jeff Spath, head of the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering. "I’m proud of this year’s winners and congratulate them on their continued success."

International and membership award recipients are formally recognized during the SPE Annual Technical Meeting and Conference, in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, in September 2021.