Skip To Main Content
Graduate student working on Dell laptop

Explore degrees available through the No. 1 online graduate program in Texas. Study online to earn the same quality degree as on campus.

Two students working on equations on a white board. One student pointing at a white board with eligible text, equations and diagrams while another closely observes
Get information on the application process and funding opportunities for undergraduate, graduate and transfer students. 
Ingenium blogger posing with fellow organization leaders with Aggie ring
Ingenium Our blog by students, for students

Get inspired by experiences and opportunities shared by fellow engineering students.

Texas A&M University in the background with seven students with their thumbs up holding a sign that says Future Aggie Engineers and Engineering Texas A&M University
PK-12 Outreach Spark!
Students and organizations can bring hands-on activities or design challenges to your location or just visit as guest speakers.
Photo collage of the 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award winners: Dr. Mahmoud El-Halwagi, Dr. Svetlana Sukhishvili, Dr. Ibere Alves, Dr. Aakash Tyagi and Dr. Gerard L. Coté.
The College of Engineering recipients of the 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award are (first row, from left) Dr. Mahmoud El-Halwagi, Dr. Svetlana Sukhishvili, Dr. Ibere Alves, (second row) Dr. Aakash Tyagi and Dr. Gerard L. Coté. | Image: Texas A&M Engineering

Five faculty members from the Texas A&M University College of Engineering were selected to receive a 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award from Texas A&M and The Association of Former Students. They were among 24 outstanding members of the university’s faculty and staff to be honored.

The College of Engineering recipients recognized for their research were Dr. Mahmoud El-Halwagi, professor and Bryan Research and Engineering Chair in Chemical Engineering, Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering, and managing director of the Gas and Fuels Research Center; and Dr. Svetlana Sukhishvili, professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and director of the Soft Matter Facility. 

Dr. Ibere Alves, professor of practice, Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering, and Dr. Aakash Tyagi, professor of practice, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, were recognized for teaching; and Dr. Gerard L. Coté, Texas A&M Regents Professor, James J. Cain Professor I in Biomedical Engineering and director of the Center for Remote Health Technologies and Systems, was recognized for graduate mentoring.

The university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to those who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M. 

In recognition of their achievements, each recipient receives a cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

See the complete list of honorees on the Dean of Faculties website.