Skip To Main Content
The Texas A&M College of Engineering won the CIGRE Outstanding Collective Member Award.
Dr. Keith Lindsey (left), chairman of the awards and recognition committee, and David Roop (right), president, CIGRE United States National Committee, present Dr. Miroslav Begovic (left center) and Dr. B. Don Russell (right center) the CIGRE Outstanding Collective Member Award. | Image: Dr. B. Don Russell

The Texas A&M University College of Engineering was named recipient of the CIGRE Outstanding Collective Member Award, which previously had only been won by companies in industry. CIGRE is an organization of 90 countries promoting electric power technology worldwide.

The Outstanding Collective Member Award is given for outstanding leadership and continuing managerial, technical and financial support of the activities of the United States National Committee (USNC) and CIGRE over an extended period of time. The award was presented at the annual luncheon meeting of the CIGRE USNC, which was held at the Hilton in Atlanta on Aug. 6.

“It is a distinct honor for Texas A&M engineering to be the first university to be named by CIGRE to this award," said Dr. B. Don Russell, Engineering Research Chair Professor, Regents Professor and TEES Eminent Professor at Texas A&M, and USNC vice president. "This is due to the long-standing relationship where Texas A&M hosts the U.S. Secretariat for CIGRE.”

The Texas A&M College of Engineering is one of the largest engineering colleges in the country with more than 20,000 engineering students and nearly 700 faculty, including world-renowned scholars, members of the National Academies of Engineering, Science and Medicine, and industry experts. The college is consistently ranked among the top 10 public engineering programs in the country and ranks third in the nation in research expenditures.

Texas A&M is first in the nation for most graduates serving as CEOs of Fortune 500 companies, has had the largest female incoming freshman engineering class for the past two years, and is among the top universities in the number of National Merit Scholars.