Skip To Main Content
Dr. JN Reddy
Dr. J.N. Reddy is the 66th recipient of the Timoshenko Medal. | Image: Justin Baetge/Texas A&M Engineering Communications

Dr. J.N. Reddy is the latest recipient of the Timoshenko Medal, a prestigious honor awarded by the Applied Mechanics Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

The award recognizes the distinguished contributions of its honorees in the field of applied mechanics.

Reddy is receiving the award “for lifetime contributions to research and education in applied mechanics through the authorship of creative and highly cited papers on variational principles, refined theories of plates and shells, computational methods and nonlocal theories, which have impacted generations of engineers.”

Reddy, Oscar S. Wyatt Jr. Chair Professor, University Distinguished Professor and Regents Professor in the J. Mike Walker '66 Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University, will accept the award on Nov. 12 during the 2019 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition in Salt Lake City, Utah.

ASME founded the award in 1957 in honor of world-renowned applied mechanics authority Stephen P. Timoshenko and his contributions as both an author and teacher.