Skip To Main Content
Four faculty receive distinguished achievement awards
Receiving Distinguished Achievement Awards: For teaching, Dr. Erick Moreno-Centeno and Dr. Scott Schaefer, for research, Dr. Yassin A. Hassan and Dr. P.R. Kumar | Image: Texas A&M College of Engineering

Four faculty members from the Texas A&M University College of Engineering were selected to receive a 2019 Distinguished Achievement Award from Texas A&M and The Association of Former Students. They were among a group of 24 outstanding Texas A&M faculty and staff members who were honored.

First presented in 1955, the university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards have been awarded to more than 1,000 professionals who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

Each year The Association of Former Students generously makes funds available to provide faculty and staff at Texas A&M with a number of awards recognizing achievement in teaching, research, individual student relationships, continuing education/extension, graduate mentoring, staff and administration. Receipt of an Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award is one of the highest university honors that can be bestowed upon a faculty or staff member. 

The 2019 Distinguished Achievement Awards were formally presented on April 29 during ceremonies in Rudder Theatre.

The 2019 recipients from the College of Engineering were:

For Teaching:

Dr. Erick Moreno-Centeno, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Dr. Scott Schaefer, Department of Computer Science and Engineering

For Research:

Dr. Yassin A. Hassan, Department of Nuclear Engineering

Dr. P.R. Kumar, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering