Skip To Main Content
Graduate student working on Dell laptop

Explore degrees available through the No. 1 online graduate program in Texas. Study online to earn the same quality degree as on campus.

Two students working on equations on a white board with eligible text on it

Get information on the application process and funding opportunities for undergraduate, graduate and transfer students.

Ingenium blogger posing with fellow organization leaders with Aggie ring
Ingenium Our blog by students, for students

Get inspired by experiences and opportunities shared by fellow engineering students.

Students with thumbs up holding Future Aggie Engineers and Engineering Texas A&M University signs
PK-12 Outreach Spark!

Students and organizations can bring hands-on activities or design challenges to your location or just visit as guest speakers.

Dr. Yassin Hassan
Dr. Yassin Hassan | Image: Texas A&M Engineering

Dr. Yassin Hassan has been named a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations. Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., Oct. 6. Hassan is cited for his work on experimentally validated thermal hydraulic analyses of multiphase flow fields for nuclear reactor operations.

He joined Texas A&M in September 1986 and is the Sallie & Don Davis '61 Professor in Engineering, a professor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering and the J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering. He has earned many honors during his tenure. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He was awarded the 2008 ANS Seaborg Medal (an award that recognizes an individual who has made outstanding scientific or engineering research contributions to the development of the uses of nuclear energy), the 2003 George Westinghouse Gold Medal Award (for distinguished and notable achievements in the power field of mechanical engineering), the 2004 Thermal Hydraulics Technical Achievement Award (the highest award given by the Thermal Hydraulic Division of ANS in recognition of contributions to nuclear engineering education and research), and the 2001 Glenn Murphy Award of the ASME (in recognition of outstanding contributions in nuclear safety through research and education).

In 2007 Hassan was sworn in as a part-time technical judge to the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. He has authored more than 470 refereed publications in technical journals and conference proceedings (190 technical journals and 285 conferences) and more than 370 summaries in ANS transactions (the largest for any ANS member since the establishment of ANS in 1950). He also serves as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Nuclear Engineering and Design and is associate editor of the Journal of Verification, Validation and Uncertainty Quantification. He was appointed as an honorary professor in the School of Computer Science and Engineering at Bangor University in the United Kingdom.