• Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Marcus C. Easterling ’30 Chair Professor
  • University Distinguished Professor
Je-Chin Han

Educational Background

  • Sc.D. Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 1976
  • M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania 1973
  • B.S. Mechanical Engineering, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan 1970

Research Interests

    • Advanced experimental and computational methods in convection heat transfer
    • Heat transfer enhancement
    • Heat transfer in rotating cooling channel flows
    • Film cooling in unsteady high turbulent flows
    • Advanced cooling in gas turbine for aircraft propulsion
    • Advanced cooling in hydrogen turbine for clean power generation
    • Advanced clean energy technology

Industry Experience

    • Worked with the Ex-Cell-O Corporation (1976-77, 1978-80) as a Development Engineer
    • Worked with the Aero-Propulsion Laboratory of Wright-Patterson Air Force Base for summer 1985 as a Faculty Research Fellow
    • Worked with the Turbomachinery and Propulsion Systems of NASA-Glenn Research Center for sabbatical leave, September-December 2000
    • Worked with the United Technologies Research Center, Pratt, and Whitney Turbine Module Center for sabbatical leave, January-August 2001

Awards & Honors

  • 2023 AAAS Fellow
  • 2020 ASME Honorary Member
  • 2018 ASME K-14 Best Heat Transfer Paper Award
  • 2016 ASME and AICHE Max Jakob Memorial Award
  • 2016 AIAA FELLOW
  • 2016 ASME IGTI Aircraft Engine Technology Award
  • 2013 ASME Heat Transfer Division 75th Anniversary Medal
  • 2007 ASME K-14 Warren Rohsenow Prize for Best Presentation
  • 2006 – present Distinguished Professor, Texas A&M University
  • 2004-2006 ASME IGTI Certificate Award for Valued Service as K-14 Chair
  • 2004 AIAA Thermophysics Award
  • 2004 ISROMAC (International Symposium on Rotating Machinery) Award2004 ISROMAC (International Symposium on Rotating Machinery) Award
  • 2002 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the Art Category
  • 2001 – present Marcus C. Easterling Chair, Texas A&M University

Selected Publications

  • Han, J.C., and Wright, L.M., Experimental Methods in Heat Transfer and Fluid Mechanics, CRC Press, 2020, ISBN #978-0-367-89792-5, 368 pages.
  • Han, J.C., “Advanced Cooling in Gas Turbines 2016 Max Jakob Memorial Award Paper,” ASME Journal of Heat Transfer, Vol. 140, No. 11, 2018, pp. 113001-1-20.
  • Han, J.C., “Fundamental Gas Turbine Heat Transfer,” ASME Journal of Thermal Science and Engineering Applications, Special Issue: 75th Anniversary Celebration of the Heat Transfer Division, 5: 021007.1-021007.15, 2013.
  • Han, J.C., Dutta, S., and Ekkad, S.V., Gas Turbine Heat Transfer and Cooling Technology, second edition, CRC Press, 2012, ISBN# 978-1-4398-5568-3, 869 pages.
  • Han, J.C., Analytical Heat Transfer, CRC Press, 2011, ISBN #9781439861967, 352 pages.