• Professor
  • James J. Cain '51 Faculty Fellow I
Debjyoti Banerjee

Educational Background

  • Ph.D., M.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) 1999
  • M.S., M.S. Engineering Science, Computational Science, University of Mississippi, Oxford, M.S. 1995
  • B.S. (Honors) Indian Institute of Technology (I.I.T.), Kharagpur 1992

Research Interests

  • Thermo-fluidics fundamentals (multi-phase flows, boiling-condensation, phase change materials; thermal management); micro/ nanotechnology (scanning probe lithography, nanosynthesis), nanofluids, MEMS (micro-electro-mechanical-systems), microfluidics, nanofluidics, confined fluids (shale-oil/ non-conventional reservoirs, hydraulic fracturing); energy-water nexus, thermal  energy  storage/ concentrated solar power, molten salt nanofluids; numerical simulations: network models/ lumped systems models, Finite Elements Analyses (FEA), Computational Fluids/ Heat Transfer (CFD/CHT), Molecular Dynamics  (MD).

Awards & Honors

  • Faculty Fellow, Engineering-Medicine Program (En-Med)
  • Faculty Fellow, Mary Kay O'Connor Process Safety Center (MKOPSC)
  • Faculty Affiliate, Gas and Fuels Research Center (GSFC)
  • Leader of Engineering Caucus (Elected) to the Faculty Senate at Texas A&M University
  • Awarded 14 US Patents: 2017 [1]: 9,671,365. 2015 [4]: 9,132,400; 9,126,169; 9,061,262; 9,044,724. 2013 [3]: 8,470,285 B1, 8,470,149 B2, 8,383,062 B2. 2012 [2]: 8,163,150; 8,147,770. 2011 [1]: 8,062,611. 2010 [1]: 7,762,638. 2008 [1]: 7,378,259. 2006 [1]: 7,034,854
  • Faculty Advisor for the Student Ambassador Program at Texas A&M University by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), (2015-2016)
  • Fellow, American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME), February, 2016
  • Leland T. Jordan Career Development Professor in Mechanical Engineering (2014-2015)
  • 3M Corporation “Non Tenured Faculty Award” (2009-2012)
  • Select Young Faculty Award, Texas A&M Engineering Experimentation Station (2008-09)
  • Faculty Fellow, Mary Kay O’Connor Process Safety Center, Texas A&M University (2007)
  • Morris-Foster Faculty Fellowship (2007-2009), Texas A&M University
  • American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Summer Faculty Fellow (2009) – Space and Naval Warfare Center (SPAWAR), Advanced Technology Branch - San Diego; sponsored by Office of Naval Research (ONR)
  • American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Summer Faculty Fellow (2006, 2007) – Air Force Research Lab. (AFRL) Wright Patterson Air Force Base (WPAFB); sponsored by Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR)
  • New Investigator Award (2005), Texas Space Grants Consortium (TSGC)
  • 2001 Best Journal Paper Award by the ASME Heat Transfer Division for 2 papers published in the Journal of Heat Transfer
  • Invited to four National Honor Societies: (Sigma Xi for Scientific Research), (Phi Kappa Phi for Academic Excellence),(Gamma Beta Phi for Social Service), (Tau Beta Pi for Engineering), 1994-1995
  • "Best Mechanical Engineering Student Award" (Amlan Sen Endowment) awarded at the graduation convocation ceremony, I.I.T. Kharagpur (1992)
  • Merit Scholarships for Undergraduate Student (3 times), I.I.T., Kharagpur. (1988-1992)
  • J.C. Bose National Science Talent Search Scholar, Government of India (1988)
  • Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) Scholarship, Govt. of India (1988-1992)

Selected Publications

  • Singh, N.*, and Banerjee, D., “Nanofins: Science and Applications”. Publisher: Springer, New York, N.Y., 2013. ISBN 978-1-4614-8532-2
  • Yu, J.*, Kang, S-K.*, Jeong, R-G., and Banerjee, D., “Experimental validation of numerical predictions for forced convective heat transfer of nanofluids in a microchannel”, International Journal of Heat and Fluid Flow, Volume 62, Part B, Pages 203–212, December 2016
  • Alfi, M.*, Nasrabadi, H., and Banerjee, D., “Experimental investigation of confinement effect on phase behavior of hexane, heptane and octane using lab-on-a-chip technology”, Fluid Phase Equilibria, Volume 423, 2016
  • Ahn, H.S*, Sinha N.*, Zhang‡, M., Feng, S. ‡, Banerjee, D., Baughman, R., “Pool boiling experiments on Multi Walled Carbon Nanotube (MWCNT) Forests”, ASME Transactions Journal of Heat Transfer, Vol. 128, No. 12, pp.1335-1342, December, 2006
  • Shin, D.*, and Banerjee, D., “Enhanced specific heat capacity of nanomaterials synthesized by dispersing silica nanoparticles in eutectic mixtures”, ASME Transactions Journal of Heat Transfer, Volume 135, Issue 3, February, 2013