Skip To Main Content

Committees and Members

Faculty Advisory Committee

Arum Han (Chair), Mladen Kezunovic, Sunil Khatri, Scott Miller, Kevin Nowka, Jeyavijayan Rajendran, Serap Savari, Chanan Singh.

Faculty Professional Recognition and External Awards Committee

Kamran Entesari (Chair), Edward Dougherty, Mehrad Ehsani, I-Hong Hou, Sunil Khatri, P.R. Kumar, B. Don Russell, Chanan Singh, Alex Sprintson, Mark Weichold, Kamran Entesari, Linda Katehi, Shankar Bhattacharyya.

Faculty Recruitment and Hiring Committee

Philip Hemmer (Chair), Shankar Bhattacharyya, Arum Han, Linda Katehi, P.R. Kumar, Robert Nevels, Thomas Overbye, Jeyavijayan Rajendran, Sebastian Hoyos.

Former Students and External Relations Committee

Kevin Nowka (Chair), Edward Dougherty, Nick Duffield, Sam Palermo, B. Don Russell, Hamid Toliyat, Karan Watson, Rusty Harris, Tie Liu.

Graduate Studies Committee

Jun Zou (Chair), Adam Birchfield, Gwan Choi, Sebastian Hoyos, Dileep Kalathil, Robert Nevels, Xiaoning Qian, Srinivas Shakkottai, Chao Tian, Byung-Jun Yoon.

Graduate Student Quality Evaluation Committee

John Lusher (Chair) Karen Butler-Purry, Kamran Entesari, Steve Wright, Robert Nevels, Pao-Tai Lin, Tie Liu, Su-in Yi. 

Seminar and Distinguished Speaker Committee

Mark Weichold (Chair), Rusty Harris, I-Hong Hou, Laszlo Kish, Mi Lu, Krzysztof Michalski, Srinivas, Shakkottai, Alex Sprintson, Xi Zhang, Mehrad Ehsani, Byung-Jun Yoon, Mark Weichold.

Staff and Faculty Internal Awards Committee

Sam Palermo (Chair), Shankar Bhattacharyya, Pierce Cantrell, Mehrad Ehsani, Peter Rentzepis, Prasad Enjeti, Pao-Tai Lin, Sam Palermo, Chanan Singh, Xiaoning Qian, Xi Zhang, Steve Wright.

Tenure and Promotion Committee

Jose Silva-Martinez (Chair), Ulisses Braga-Neto, Rusty Harris, Sebastian Hoyos, Linda Katehi, Christi Madsen, Scott Miller, Weiping Shi, Le Xie.

Undergraduate Enrichment and Outreach Committee

Oscar Moreira-Tamayo (Chair), Ulisses Bragaa-Neto, Karen Butler-Purry, Kate Davis, Prasad Enjeti, Oscar Moreira-Tamayo, Mina Rahimian, Weiping Shi, Chao Tian.

Undergraduate Studies Committee

Aydin Karsilayan (Chair), Adam Birchfield, Paul Gratz, Laszlo Kish, Krzysztof Michalski, Scott Miller, Oscar Moreira, Mina Rahimian, Raffaella Righetti, Serap Savari, John Tyler.

Guidelines for Joint Faculty with Courtesy (0%) Appointments

Goal: To provide 0% appointments in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECEN) to tenured and tenure-track faculty whose long-term primary employment commitment is in another Texas A&M University department, but who would like to establish a mutually beneficial relationship with ECEN.

Criteria: There should be a clear and mutual benefit to the department and to the candidate. Requests based solely on the need to supervise graduate students do not constitute sufficient justification for an appointment.

Expectations and Privileges of Joint Faculty with Courtesy Appointments

  • They are expected to establish a mutually beneficial relationship with the department.
  • They will be given the privilege to serve as Chair of Graduate Advisory Committees for ECEN students.
  • Once approved, they are expected to give a departmental seminar to introduce themselves to the faculty and thus facilitate further collaborations.

Appointment & Renewal Processes

  • Candidates must provide a CV and a formal request memo to the department head identifying the goals of the appointment and the benefits to the candidate and the department.
  • A champion faculty member within ECEN is required, and a recommendation letter from the champion should be attached.
  • The CV, statement, and faculty recommendation will be considered by the ECEN Faculty Recruitment and Hiring Committee, which will make a recommendation to the ECEN department head.
  • The ECEN department head will review the recommendation and make a final departmental decision. If the department head decision deviates from the recommendation of the Faculty Recruitment and Hiring Committee, the department head will provide the committee with a justification.

Appointment Term: Three years, renewable based upon evaluation by the ECE Faculty Recruitment and Hiring Committee. If a Joint Appointment is not renewed, then the faculty member must go through the full process again for a new joint appointment. If the committee has not performed an assessment within the past one year, then existing joint appointments reaching the term limit shall remain in effect until they are reviewed.

Renewal Duties: The joint faculty must submit a brief report that will be reviewed by the ECE Faculty Recruitment and Hiring Committee. The report must include the following:

  • Current CV.
  • Description of any seminars and/or guest lectures by the joint faculty or their students in ECEN since the previous review.
  • Description of any collaboration with ECEN faculty or supervision of ECEN students since the last review
  • (Optional) Description of any other pertinent activities involving ECEN since the last review. Examples include participation in ECEN faculty meetings, ECEN faculty lunches, ECEN faculty retreats, and teaching of ECEN courses.
  • (Optional) Summary of research activities, impacts, and services outside of their home department (College of Engineering/Texas A&M University, Community, etc.) relating to the joint appointment.