• Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Regents Professor
Mark H. Weichold

Educational Background

  • Ph.D., Texas A&M University – 1983

Research Interests

    • Solid State Device Physics and Fabrication

Awards & Honors

  • IEEE Fellow, Education Society, 2015
  • Abdullah bin Hamad Al Attiyah International Energy Award for ‘Lifetime Achievement for the Advancement of Education’, 2013
  • TAMUS Regents Professor, 2010
  • TAMU Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award for Administration, 2006
  • International Excellence Award, TAMU International Programs Office, College Station, 1997
  • TAMU GSC Kunze Award for Outstanding Graduate Advising, TAMU Graduate Student Council, College Station, 1997

Selected Publications

  • "Porous Silicon Field Emission Cathode Development", J.R. Jessing, D.L. Parker, and M.H. Weichold, Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology B, Vol. 14, No. 3, pp. 1899-1901, May-June 1996.
  • "Down-Conversion of Microwave Optoelectronic Signals in a GaAs Microstrip Ring Resonator", J.C. Lee, C.L. Yeh, C.H. Ho, H. F. Taylor, M.H. Weichold, and K. Chang, Japanese Journal of Applied Physics, Vol. 35, Part 2, No. 10B, pp. L1336-L1338, October 15, 1996.
  • "The Effects of Evanescent Modes and Subband Mixing on Current-Voltage Characteristics of Gated Resonant Tunneling Diodes", C. Lee and M.H. Weichold, Journal of Applied Physics, Vol. 81, No. 12, June 15, 1997, pp. 8064-8073.
  • "Optoelectronic Parametric Amplification in a Microstrip Ring Resonator on GaAs Substrate," J.C. Lee, C.L. Yeh, C.H. Ho, and M.H. Weichold, Jpn. J. Appl. Phys. Lett., Vol. 36, Part 2, No. 6B, 15 June 1997, pp. L774-L776.
  • "Conditions for Oscillations in a One-Dimensional Multi-Valued Logic Cellular Neural Network", S. Villareal, J. Pineda de Gyvez, and M.H. Weichold, 1996 International Symposium on Nonlinear Theory and its Applications (NOLTA'96), October 7-9, 1996 in Kochi, Japan.
  • "Fabrication and Characterization of Gated Porous Silicon Cathode Field Emission Arrays", J.R. Jessing, H.R. Kim, D.L. Parker, and M.H. Weichold, 10th International Vacuum Microelectronics Conference, July 1997, Korea.