Hamid A. Toliyat

Raytheon Endowed Professor


Office: WEB 237C
Phone: 979.862.3034
Fax: 979.845.6259
Email: toliyat@tamu.edu

Research Website
Google Scholar Profile

Research Interests

  • Novel electric machines for different applications
  • Condition monitoring and fault diagnosis of electric machinery
  • Electric and Hybrid Electric Vehicles
  • Electromechanical energy storage batteries
  • Active power filters for power systems network
  • Fuel cell operated electric motor drives
  • Distributed Energy Systems; Wind Mills, Microturbines, Solar Power Plants
  • Smart Grids and their components
  • Auxiliary power generators
  • Power converters for electric machines including multilevels
  • Uninterruptible power supplies (UPS)
  • Sensors and Sensorless electric motor drive and spindle motors
  • DSP-based power electronics systems
  • Simulation techniques such as finite elements analysis and Pspice and Saber.
  • Consulting in related fields and serving as an expert witness

Awards & Honors

  • IEEE Fellow
  • IEEE Nikola Tesla Award
  • Best Paper Second Prize Award, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, Electrical Machine Technical Committee, IECON 2008.
  • IEEE Industry Applications Society Executive Board, Member, Jan. 2008- Dec. 2009.
  • Prize Paper Award, IEEE Power Engineering Society (PES), 2007.
  • Prize Paper Award, IEEE Power Engineering Electric Machinery Committee, 2007.
  • Patent and Innovation Award, Texas A&M University System Office of Technology Commercialization’s, 2007.
  • TEES Fellow Award, Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), $5000.0 prize award, Fall 2006.
  • Third Prize Transactions Paper Award, IEEE Industry Applications Society, 2006.
  • Professional Engineer, State of Texas , P.E. # 97974.
  • Outstanding Professor Award, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University, $5000.0 prize award, Fall 2005.
  • Cyrill Veinott Electromechanical Energy Conversion Award, IEEE Power Engineering Society, $5000 prize award, 2004.
  • TEES Fellow Award, Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), $5000.0 prize award, Fall 2004.
  • Editor, IEEE Transactions on Energy Conversion, 2001-present.
  • Distinguished Achievement Award, in recognition of distinguished achievements in teaching, Association of Former Students, Texas A&M University , Fall 2003, $2000 prize award.
  • E.D. Brockett Professorship Award, Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), $4000.0 prize award, 2002-2003.
  • Appeared on People’s Agenda talk show of KERA 90.1 Dallas/Fort Worth/ Denton on “Fuel Cell Research and other Aspects of Automotive Research,” January 7, 2003, 10:00 AM-11:00 AM.
  • Member of Editorial Board, The Institution of Engineering and Technology, Electric Power Applications, United Kingdom, Sep. 2007 – present.
  • Schlumberger Foundation Technical Awards, $25,000 prize award, April 2001.
  • Eugene E. Webb’43 Faculty Fellow Award, Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), , $5000.0 prize award, for “Overall contribution to the Engineering Program including classroom instruction, scholarly activities and professional service”, 2000-2001.
  • Select Young Investigator Award, Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), $5000.0 stipend, 1999.
  • Schlumberger Foundation Technical Awards, $30,000.0 prize award, April 2000.
  • Space Act Award by NASA Inventions and Contributions Board, $250.0 prize award, April 1999.
  • Prize Paper Award, Electric Machinery Committee of the IEEE Power Engineering Society, Best Transactions paper, 1996.


  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, May 1991
  • MS, West Virginia University, May 1986
  • BS, Sharif University of Technology, Iran, May 1982

Selected Publications

DSP-Based Electromechanical Motion Control, CRC Press, Florida , 2003, 344 pages.

Handbook of Electric Motors, 2nd Edition, Marcel Dekker, New York , 2004, 805 pages.