The Department of Ocean Engineering provides undergraduate scholarships and graduate fellowships to dozens of students every year. Last year, over $80,000 in awards was given to approximately 40 students. Decisions regarding scholarship awards are made during the summer by the Ocean Engineering Scholarship Committee, and student applications can be submitted at any time during the Spring semester.

As mentioned above, the awards distributed by the Ocean Engineering
Program are numerous; we thank the donors for the awards that are given annually:

  • Society of Naval Architects & Marine Engineers (SNAME) Scholarships
  • Marine Technology Society (MTS) Scholarships
  • D. Michael Hughes Fellowships in Ocean Engineering
  • Barrett G Hindes Merit Scholarships in Dredging Studies
  • Spirit of '76 Scholarship
  • Orville T. Magoon Scholarship in Coastal Engineering
  • Barbara and Robert Randall Scholarship in Ocean Engineering
  • Bill Haynes Fellowships in Coastal Engineering
  • Subsea Tieback Foundation
  • American Bureau of Ships (ABS)
  • Dr. Chester P. Jelesnianski Memorial Fellowship
  • Western Dredging Association Scholarship (Murden)
  • American Bureau of Shipping Scholarships
  • Donald R. Ray '68 Scholarship in Ocean Engineering
  • Oceaneering International Endowed Scholarship
  • MTS/OTRC Rope Technology Scholarship
  • Proceanic Ocean Engineering Scholarship

Minimum requirements vary from scholarship to scholarship; however, in general, successful applicants will have a GPR greater than 3.0 and will be actively involved in the Ocean Engineering professional societies, such as SNAME and MTS. Questions should be directed to Charlie Donaway.