Kuo appointed chair professor of the Department of Photonics at National Chiao Tung University

Image of Yue KuoDr. Yue Kuo, professor and holder of the Dow Chemical Professorship in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been appointed chair professor of the Department of Photonics at National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) in Taiwan.

NCTU is one of the most selective universities in Taiwan, and according to the Academic Ranking of World Universities, it is one the top 100 engineering schools in the world. Further, the Nature Index, which compiles information from research articles published in an independently selected group of 68 high-quality science journals to “provide a close to real-time proxy for high-quality research output at the institutional, national and regional level,” lists NCTU as the fourth most prolific research institution in Taiwan.  

This marks the fourth such honorary title for Kuo, who also holds appointments at Shanghai Jiaotong University, Xian Jiaotong University and Nankai University, three of the top 10 universities in China.

The appointment is just the latest in a long line of achievements for Kuo. Earlier, Kuo was awarded a JSPS (Japan Society for the Promotion of Science) Fellowship. In 2016 Kuo was elected Fellow of the American Vacuum Society. In February of 2015, he was awarded the Gordon E. Moore Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Science and Technology by the Electrochemical Society (ECS). Kuo is also serving as the Senior Vice President of ECS. In addition to a large number of awards and honors from professional societies, industry, ad Texas A&M, many of his papers have been most downloaded, highlighted, and selected to cover page articles, such as the top 5 most-cited solid state articles in the journal ECS Transactions. He has edited over 35 journals and proceedings volumes published by ECS, MRS, IEEE, AVS, IOP, JSAP, etc. He is the founder of the world longest continuously held Thin Film Transistor symposium series for 26 years.