Talreja honored with Kenneth L. Clinton Award

Ramesh TalrejaDr. Ramesh Talreja will be honored at the Kenneth L. Clinton Awards luncheon April 20 for his work with the Brazil Study Abroad Program in aerospace engineering. This award is given to faculty that participate in and help facilitate study abroad programs with research, teaching and service. This year it is honoring faculty in The Texas A&M University System that participated in study abroad programs in Mexico and Central America.

Talreja has conducted the Brazil Study Abroad Program for the past six years and various other research activities at universities in Brazil. Among the highlights are being a senior visiting researcher leading a Science Without Borders program at the Federal University of Rio Grande of North, Natal. This was a three-year funded program supporting two doctoral students in Brazil.

He has also been a co-advisor of a doctoral student at the University of Sao Paulo, Sao Carlos, as well as co-PI in an Air Force Office of Scientific Research-funded project at the university. Talreja was an invited panel speaker on composite materials at the First Brazilian Conference in 2012 and the Second Brazilian Conference in 2014. He has also served as the only United States member of the International Advisory Board for the Lightweight Structures Laboratory of the Sao Paulo State. 

“Getting involved in the Brazil Study Abroad Program and in various research activities in Brazil have been a source of satisfaction for me. Seeing young Aggies come back from Brazil energized and enriched with the experience is worth all the work it takes to run the program,” says Talreja.

Talreja is a Tenneco Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. He will receive his award at a ceremony hosted at Texas A&M University-Commerce. Dr. Maria Hernandez Ferrier, former president of Texas A&M University-San Antonio and Texas A&M System director of development and Mexico relations, will be the keynote speaker. Dr. Ray Keck, interim president of A&M-Commerce, will present the award.