Cadigan to receive 2016 Astronaut Scholarship

CadiganMaura Cadigan, an Engineering Honors senior in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive the 2016 Astronaut Scholarship, which is awarded by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation was created by the Mercury 7 astronauts to ensure the United States retains its position of leadership in science and technology by encouraging students to pursue advanced educations and careers in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) fields. This is done by awarding scholarships to the best and brightest minds and by building a mentoring network that allows the Astronaut Scholars to connect with astronauts, each other and innovative technology leaders throughout the nation.

Cadigan is the first Aggie to be selected as a technical consultant for the Stanford US-Russia Forum. She was the mechanical team lead for the Women in Engineering’s VEX robotics team and a teaching assistant for ENGR 112. She plans to continue her education with a Ph.D., and will pursue a career with NASA or a government research laboratory.

The prestigious Astronaut Scholarship is known for being among the most significant scholarships awarded to undergraduate STEM students. Cadigan joins aerospace engineering graduates Emily Boster and Daniel Araya as individuals who have received this honor.