First cohort of students admitted to Zachry Leadership Program

ZLP 1st cohort

The first cohort of students admitted into the Zachry Leadership Program was honored with a reception Nov. 9 at Kyle Field. All 32 students were in attendance, along with M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of Texas A&M Engineering, John Zachry, Zachry Group Chairman & CEO, as well as other senior representatives from Zachry Group.

The Zachry Leadership Program is a joint effort between the Dwight Look College of Engineering and Zachry Group. Its purpose is to develop the participants’ understanding of leadership and enhance their own capabilities; expand their understanding of the free-enterprise system and the role businesses play in meeting society’s needs; and, ultimately, equip the participants with skills that will allow them to perform at a high level upon entering the workforce. 

The five-semester leadership program, which commences in the spring of the student’s sophomore year, is designed to provide a cohort of 32 students a broader perspective of the world in which they will live and work.

“Our Zachry Leadership Program is unique,” said Dr. Tanya Dugat Wickliff, program director and professor of practice. “We have created a distinct program structure with five pre-semester retreats. We have customized content that integrates leadership, engineering, business and service throughout each semester, and we have incorporated remarkable professional leaders in special coaching roles as part of the curriculum.”

The first cohort includes the following students:

Thuria Abdelaziz, chemical engineering; Cameron Amos, computer science; Camille Ayala, chemical engineering; Willie Caraway, mechanical engineering; Tania Carlin, civil engineering; Amanda Cheek, mechanical engineering; Joseph Clegg, industrial engineering; Meredith Davis, biomedical engineering; Dominic Di Biaggio, petroleum engineering; Melanie Enriquez, electrical engineering; Terrica Green, electrical engineering; Eliot Guerin, civil engineering; Brett Jackson, mechanical engineering; Brandon Kocurek, chemical engineering; Ravi Lad, petroleum engineering; Vy Le, petroleum engineering; William Lipzcomb, chemical engineering; Samuel McDonald, aerospace engineering; Luis Moreno, industrial engineering; Donald Okoye, electrical engineering; Zara Parkar, industrial distribution; Andrew Reyes, chemical engineering; Alexandra Rodriguez, general engineering; Roger Simon, aerospace engineering; Harrison Sladic, petroleum engineering; Emily Tasker, mechanical engineering; Holly Turman, mechanical engineering; Joseph Valencia, mechanical engineering; Carolynn Van Zandt, biomedical engineering; Samuel Wade, industrial distribution; Michael Weidman, civil engineering; Victoria Withrow, industrial distribution.

Each student is awarded a $1,000 scholarship each semester while enrolled in the program.

For more information on the program, visit the ZLP website.