Chemical engineering undergrads honored with Buck Weirus Spirit Award

Photo of James Havlock and Joshua Light

James Havlock and Joshua Light, undergraduates in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University, have been named recipients of the Buck Weirus Spirit Award by The Association of Former Students.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award, named for Richard "Buck" Weirus, a 1942 graduate of Texas A&M, recognizes students for their outstanding contributions to the university. The award annually honors students who demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie Spirit.

“It is truly an honor to receive the Buck Weirus Spirit Award,” Havlock said. “Buck Weirus made a huge impact on Texas A&M during his time here, and it means a lot to know that I have made even a small impact on others during my time here. It also motivates me to continue to spend my time serving Texas A&M.”

Light echoed Havlock’s sentiments and lauded the service-oriented environment at Texas A&M.

“This award represents how great of a place A&M is,” Light said. “Students are constantly serving the school and each other, which is the foundation of the university. It has been my privilege to serve and I hope to impact many more Aggies in the future.”

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award was established in 1982 by The Association of Former Students in recognition of Weirus’ unique leadership, vision and support of student involvement. Weirus served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980.

Original Story