Rauchwerger named IEEE Fellow

Dr. Lawrence Rauchwerger, professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University and cofounder and codirector of the Parasol Laboratory, has been named an IEEE Fellow, effective Jan. 1.Photo Dr. Lawrence Rauchwerger

He is being recognized for contributions to thread-level speculation, parallelizing compilers, and parallel libraries.

Rauchwerger holds an electronic engineering degree from the Polytechnic Institute in Bucharest, Romania; an M.S. in electrical engineering from Stanford University; and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Before joining the faculty at Texas A&M in 1996, he was a visiting assistant professor in the Center for Supercomputing R&D at the University of Illinois and a visitings cientist at AT&T Research Laboratories in Murray Hill, N.J.

Among his many accomplishments are an NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award; the TEES Fellow Award from the Dwight Look College of Engineering at Texas A&M in 2002 and 2005; an IBM Faculty Award in 2007 and 2008; and a Halliburton Professorship from the Look College in 2009.

Rauchwerger's research has targeted the area of high performance compilers, thread level speculation in both software and hardware implementation, libraries for parallel and distributed computing, and adaptive optimizations. His current focus is STAPL, a parallel superset of the ISO C++ STL library which is driven by his goal to improve the productivity of parallel software development. His approach to parallel code development and optimization (STAPL and SmartApps) has influenced industrial products at major corporations.

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year cannot exceed one-tenth of one percent of the total voting membership. IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement. 321 individuals have been elevated to IEEE Fellow for 2011.