2017 Award Recipients

2017 MSEN Best M.S. Thesis Award


2017 MSEN Best Ph.D. Thesis Award


Sneha Chawla

Sneha Chawla for her Ph.D. thesis, "Microstructure-mechanical property relationships in carbon nanofibers". 


2017 MSEN Best Paper Graduate Student Award


Hua Wang

Hua Wang for his paper, "Two-dimensional multiferroics in monolayer group IV monochalcogenides" published in 2D Materials.

2017 MSEN Best Paper, PostDoc Award



Dr. Fernando Soto for his paper, "Tuning the Solid Electrolyte Interphase for Selective Li- and Na-ion Storage in Hard Carbon," published in Advanced Materials.

2017 MSEN Excellence in Outreach Award


Victoria Albright

Victoria Albright for her outstanding work in materials science and engineering outreach in the College of Engineering and College of Science. She has served as president of Women in Materials Science, a student organization in the department, dedicated to encouraging women to pursue studies in materials science and careers in STEM fields while promoting a community atmosphere among students and faculty.