Graduate Invitational (GI) is a campus visitation event for highly qualified U.S. citizens and permanent residents who plan to matriculate in an engineering Doctor of Philosophy, and in some cases Master of Science, program in the subsequent fall semester. The event is held on campus at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. Attendees have the opportunity to:

  • Interact with faculty in their area of interest
  • Tour the Texas A&M campus and engineering research laboratories and facilities
  • Visit with currently enrolled graduate students

Invitation

There is no separate application for this event. All highly-qualified domestic students who submitted a complete Texas A&M engineering Ph.D. (and some M.S.) application for the subsequent fall semester are considered for review by the respective department.

Travel and Housing Accommodations

Arrangements for travel and housing accommodations are provided to select students and determined by the respective department.

For 2019, the hotel for attendees is The George. All reservations are coordinated by the College of Engineering; no separate booking is needed. Check-in from 3 p.m. - midnight and check-out at noon or earlier. Shuttle service to/from The George and College Station Easterwood airport is available. For pick up from the airport, visitors should contact The George at 979-485-5638 upon arrival to College Station Easterwood Airport. For departure, visitors should inform The George front desk in advance of their departure.

Schedule At-A-Glance

Attendees will receive the final itinerary that is unique to their respective department. Contact your department for more information.

Thursday, Feb. 21, 2019
Friday, Feb. 22, 2019
Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019

Arrive in College Station and check-in to hotel

Department activities (samples):
Campus tour
Tour of town
Dinner with departments

*Itineraries for department visits will be provided by each department

8 a.m.
Check-in, pick up nametags

8:30-9:30 a.m
Welcome presentation and Breakfast hosted by the College of Engineering in The Statesman Ballroom

9:45 a.m.
Shuttle departs for campus

10 a.m.
Department visits*

Hotel check-out

Department Contacts

Department Name Email Address Phone
Graduate Programs, 
College of Engineering
Tandilyn Morrel
Juan Rodriguez
Jennifer Veracruz
tmorrel@tamu.edu
j.rodriguez@tamu.edu
jveracruz@tamu.edu
979-845-6883
979-458-8448
979-845-7282
Aerospace Gaile Rowe lgrowe@tamu.edu 979-845-5520
Biological & Agricultural Stormy Kretzschmar stoking@tamu.edu 979-845-6658
Biomedical Maria Lyons mlyons@tamu.edu 979-845-2312
Chemical Ashley Stokes
Terah Cooper
stokes992@tamu.edu
tcooper@tamu.edu
979-845-3364
979-845-8360
Civil Laura Byrd
Chris Grunkenmeyer
lbyrd@civil.tamu.edu
cgrunk@civil.tamu.edu
979-845-2498
Computer Science and Engineering Karrie Borquin karrie@cse.tamu.edu 979-845-4087
Electrical and Computer Engineering Katie Bryan
Melissa Sheldon
k.bryan@tamu.edu
tammy@ece.tamu.edu
979-845-7467
Engineering Technology & Industrial Distribution Mark Lorenzo mark.lorenzo@tamu.edu 979-458-3145
Industrial Erin Roady erinroady@tamu.edu 979-845-5536
Interdisciplinary Tandilyn Morrel tmorrel@tamu.edu 979-845-6883
Materials Science Jules Henry jules.henry@tamu.edu 979-862-1089
Mechanical Rebecca Simon
Sandra Havens
rebeccasimon@tamu.edu
shavens@tamu.edu
979-458-9196
979-458-3315
Nuclear Robb Jenson robb.jenson@tamu.edu 979-458-2072
Ocean Caleb Mullens mullberries89@tamu.edu 979-845-5480
Petroleum Eleanor Schuler e-schuler@tamu.edu 979-845-8402