Skip To Main Content
Dr. Miroslav Begovic

Welcome to the home page of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University.

Almost any technology in the last 120 years has the imprint of electrical and computer engineering — satellite communication, medical diagnostic and procedure systems and sophisticated sensors and control systems used in space exploration and national security, to name a few.

Electrical engineering has indeed advanced national and global prosperity by research, development and application of electrical and information technologies and sciences for the benefit of humanity and has helped create the global village. By choosing electrical or computer engineering, our graduates embark on an exciting and productive career and help in shaping a better future for mankind.

As a major department with an enrollment of over 1,600 undergraduate and about 500 graduate students pursuing degrees in electrical and computer engineering, our mission is threefold:

  • To create new knowledge and challenge young minds by participation in the process of discovery and invention;
  • To educate electrical and computer engineers with a solid background of fundamentals, stretching their imagination and preparing them for an exciting future;
  • To serve the society through research, education and outreach activities and serve as an easily accessible source of expertise for issues of societal importance.

With outstanding faculty and students, the department is well poised to achieve its mission of excellence in all three areas. Currently, we have 71 tenured/tenure track faculty. Some indicators of our faculty recognition include 35 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellows, six members of the National Academy of Engineering, two recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), 20 recipients of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, the Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Award, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) young investigator award and numerous editorships of major journals and national level awards. We also have the unique honor that one of our former faculty members (1978-1984), Jack Kilby, received the 2000 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Because of our faculty size and competence, we can provide unmatched diversity and a wealth of educational and research experience. Students can choose from eight focus areas of research and education:

  • Analog and mixed signal
  • Biomedical imaging, sensing and genomic signal processing
  • Computer Engineering & Systems Group
  • Device science and nanotechnology
  • Energy and power
  • Electromagnetics and microwaves
  • Information science and learning systems

As boundaries among disciplines are melting with broader interests across the research community, many of our faculty members work across these focus areas and across departments, providing opportunities for students to embrace interdisciplinary research and education. We also have several faculty members from other departments who hold joint appointments and actively participate and further enrich the intellectual landscape of our research and educational endeavors.

We invite you to browse the helpful information here on the web and learn about our exceptional educational and research programs, outstanding faculty, students and staff. I hope you find the tour of our site on the web informative and useful. If you need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With best wishes,

Miroslav Begovic
Moore Professor
Department Head