Han honored with highest award in heat transfer

Je-Chin HanDr. Je-Chin Han, Distinguished Professor and holder of the Marcus C. Easterling Chair in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University, was named recipient of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 2016 Max Jakob Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to the science and art of heat and mass transfer.

Established in honor of Max Jakob in 1961 by the ASME Heat Transfer Division, the award is presented to industry professionals who have displayed eminent achievement of distinguished service in the area of heat transfer.

Han will receive his award at the ASME 2017 Summer Heat Transfer Conference in Bellevue, Washington in July, where he will give a lecture on a heat transfer topic of his choice. His lecture will appear in the Journal of Heat Transfer as a review article. 

Han received his bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from National Taiwan University and his master’s degree in mechanical engineering from Lehigh University. He earned his doctoral degree in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Han’s previous awards include: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Fellow (2016); Aircraft Engine Technology Award (2016); ASME Heat Transfer Division 75th Anniversary Medal (2013); ASME K-14 Warren Rohsenow Prize for Best Paper (2007); ASME IGTI Certificate Award for Valued Service as Chair of the Heat Transfer Committee (2004-06); AIAA Thermophysics Award (2004); the International Symposium of Rotating Machinery Award in Heat Transfer (2004); and the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the Art Category (2002).