Hassan to receive James N. Landis Medal at 2017 ASME Power Energy Conference Exhibition

Hassan_Landis AwardDr. Yassin A. Hassan, department head of the Department of Nuclear Engineering at Texas A&M University and the Sallie & Don Davis '61 Professor in Nuclear Engineering, has been awarded the 2017 James N. Landis Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) in recognition of his outstanding contributions to nuclear reactor safety.

Recipients of the medal are noted for outstanding personal performance in work related to designing, constructing or managing the operation of major steam-powered electric stations using nuclear power or fossil fuels. These professional achievements must also be complemented with demonstrated personal leadership experiences and humanitarian pursuits.

The award will be presented on June 27 at the Charlotte Motor Speedway during the 2017 ASME Power Energy Conference Exhibition in Concord, North Carolina. The award consists of a $7,500 honorarium, a bronze medal and certificate. Hassan has designated the honorarium to be donated to ASME student scholarships. The medal was established in 1958 in honor of James N. Landis, president of ASME in 1958.

“I am humbled to have been named as a recipient of this award,” Hassan said. “I am truly honored by this recognition from the ASME." 

Hassan has served in a variety of interdisciplinary roles both in and outside of Texas A&M. His fields of specialization include thermal-hydraulics, computational and experimental fluid mechanics and flow visualization.