Industrial engineering associates recognized at spring honors and awards banquet

The Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Texas A&M University recognized current students, faculty, staff and alumni at the 2017 Spring Honors and Awards Banquet. Dr. Mark Lawley, department head, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) Research Professor and deputy director of the Center for Remote Health Technologies and Systems, presented the awards.

“Our awards banquet represents the happy culmination of our academic year,” said Lawley. “It’s a time when we come together to celebrate and recognize those who have inspired us through their extraordinary dedication and achievement.”    

Dr. Randy Hoff '98, chief executive officer of Cenergistic, an energy conservation company, was awarded the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award for his significant contributions in promoting the profession of industrial engineering.  

“Randy’s contribution to the community and industry leadership of excellence is a great example of Texas A&M’s finest. We consider him to be an ideal role model for our students,” said Lawley. “He exhibits the outstanding work ethic and levels of accomplishment that we look for in choosing our distinguished alumni. He is richly deserving of this honor and we are very proud of him.” 

Numerous faculty members in the department received national honors including Dr. Alaa Elwany, Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers; Dr. César Malavé, American Society for Engineering Education John L. Imhoff Award; Dr. Erick Moreno-Centeno, Outstanding Early Career IE in Academia Award; Dr. Natarajan Gautam, Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) Fellow; and Dr. Yu Ding, American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fellow.

Within Texas A&M, Gautam, professor and associate department head for undergraduate affairs, was also recognized for receiving the William O. and Montine P. Head Faculty Fellow, as well as the Most Influential Faculty Award, which is given to a faculty member who has left a profound impression on students in the department. Gautam is said to inspire students with his passion for education and go above and beyond to help his students reach their highest potential.

Dr. Farzan Sasangohar, assistant professor, and Dr. Michelle Alvarado, visiting assistant professor, received the Capstone Team Advisor Awards. Sasangohar advised the AT&T team in fall 2016 and Alvarado advised the University Writing Center team in spring 2016.

Elwany, assistant professor, was also awarded the department’s Coin of Excellence for conducting the first industrial and systems engineering study abroad program to Egypt and the first winter semester study abroad program that included all college of engineering departments.

Dr. G. Kemble Bennett, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, emeritus, was presented his pin from the university recognizing his 30 years of service at Texas A&M.

Dr. Don Smith, emeritus senior associate professor, was recognized for his leadership during the most recent ABET accreditation review and for his retirement from Texas A&M after over 40 years of service.

Undergraduate students were recognized for their accomplishments throughout the academic year.

Paola Guttierrez received the Jack P. CoVan Student Award, established in honor of Dr. Jack P. CoVan for his dedication to the students of Texas A&M from 1946 - 1974. The award honors the most outstanding senior industrial engineering student.

Veronica Houtmann and Victoria Scott were recognized with the Outstanding Student Service Award for their selfless service and loyalty to the department.

Julie Hammett was chosen to receive the Distinguished Student Service Award. The recipient of this award is renowned in the department for going above what is required of them without any obligation to do so.

For staff awards, Diego Alvarado, academic advisor II, received the Outstanding Staff Member Award for his dedication and service to the students.

Industry awards were given to companies who support various projects in the department.

Cameron, a Schlumberger Company, was chosen for the Partner of Excellence Award. The department recognizes Cameron as an industry partner and provider of capstone projects.

“Cameron is a very important partner for our senior design program,” Lawley said. “They consistently provide us with high-quality projects that challenge our seniors and prepare them for work in the real world. The Partner of Excellence award is our way of saying thanks for their outstanding contribution to our program.”​ 

Dow Chemical Company was awarded the Outstanding Industry Sponsor from the IISE for providing funds to the IISE that helped make the annual Industrial and Systems Engineering Career Fair a huge success.