Dehghanian awarded the 2017 Montgomery Award

PaymanPayman Dehghanian, a graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, was awarded the 2017 Montgomery Award at the Graduate and Professional Student Council Banquet in May. Recipients were selected for this competitive honor based on significant leadership, commitment and impact on the Texas A&M graduate student body.

Dehghanian is in the final year of his graduate studies and is advised by Dr. Mladen Kezunovic, the Eugene E. Webb Professor and Regents Professor in the department. Dehghanian is currently the president of the Texas A&M student branch joint chapter of the IEEE Power and Energy Society, Power Electronics Society and Industry Applications Society. He received his bachelor's degree from the University of Tehran in 2009 and his master's degree from Sharif University of Technology in 2011, both in electrical engineering. His research interests include power system protection and control, power system reliability, asset management, maintenance scheduling, renewable integration and smart grid applications.

Dehghanian’s other honors include being awarded a scholarship from the Association of Energy Engineers Lone Star Chapter; being selected as a potential future leader by IEEE; receiving the Sigma Xi Grant-in-Aid-of-Research; receiving a second place prize for Best Poster Award at the 2016 IEEE Power and Energy Society Transmission and Distribution Conference and Exposition; receiving a research grant scholarship from the American Public Power Association under the Demonstration of Energy and Efficiency Development Program; being awarded the Roland and Margaret Prove Southerland Aggie Leader Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year; being awarded an Aggie Ring Scholarship from the Texas A&M Association of Former Students; and being selected as the IEEE Industry Application Society Electric Safety Workshop 2017 student program chair.