Kim to receive 2016 Dean of Engineering Excellence Award

Kim, Moo-HyunDr. Moo-Hyun Kim, professor in the Department of Ocean Engineering at Texas A&M University, is a recipient of the 2016 Dean of Engineering Excellence Award.

The award will be presented at an annual awards banquet in May. Kim is one of eight faculty members in the college of engineering to receive this honor in 2016.

Kim’s research includes floating offshore wind turbines, nonlinear dynamics of offshore platforms, wave mechanics and free-surface flows and smart offshore platforms/active control

“This is a much-deserved recognition for his contributions to OCEN engineering,” said Dr. Sharath Girimaji, professor, holder of Wofford Cain Chair II and head in the ocean engineering department.

Kim is using existing technology and experience in the offshore oil and gas industry to apply the designs of a multi-unit floating offshore wind turbine in order to generate economically competitive, infinitely renewable, no waste or carbon emission energy. Read more here.

Author: Shraddha Sankhe