Six computer science and engineering faculty members receive College of Engineering Faculty Awards


Each year, M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering at Texas A&M University, recognizes faculty members who have received fellowships for their impact on their department and the college as a whole. The Department of Computer Science and Engineering had six faculty members receive a total of seven awards.

Associate Professors, Dr. James Caverlee and Dr. Guofei Gu, received Faculty Fellow Awards. Caverlee received the Holleran-Bowman Faculty Fellowship and Gu received the Charles H. Barclay, Jr. ’45 Fellowship.


Caverlee also received the Dean of Engineering Excellence Award along with Dr. Tim Davis and Dr. Ricardo Gutierrez-Osuna, professors in the department.

“I am honored to receive this recognition and wish to continue to be part of Texas A&M for many years,” Gutierrez-Osuna said.

Professor of Practice, Dr. Aakash Tyagi received the Instructional Faculty Teaching Award. He joined the department in fall 2014 after a career in industry working for Intel. Assistant Professor, Dr. Jeff Huang, received a TEES Young Faculty Fellow Award.


“I am filled with gratitude by this recognition, and wish to pay homage to the efforts of my unsung heroes in the students, teaching assistants and faculty who continue to encourage me to learn and improve in best serving our CSE community,” Tyagi said.

The award recipients will be formally recognized at an awards ceremony this spring.