Civil engineering faculty recipients of College of Engineering Faculty Awards

Drs. Scott Socolofsky, Lufthansa Kanta and Stefan Hurlebaus of the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University, have been awarded 2016-17 College of Engineering Faculty Awards.

Image of Scott SocolofskySocolofsky, professor, was chosen to receive the Williams Brothers Construction Engineering Fellow Award for outstanding engineering contributions. In 2003, he became an assistant professor at Texas A&M, and now serves as a professor and division head of environmental, water resources and coastal engineering in the civil engineering department. He researches laboratory and numerical methods in multi-phase flow lake aeration, direct ocean carbon sequestration, dynamics of subsea oil spills, shallow flow stability, mixing at tidal inlets, and coastal oceanography.

Image of Lufthansa KantaKanta, instructional assistant professor, is being honored with the Instructional Faculty Teaching Award. She earned her Ph. D. in civil engineering from Texas A&M in 2009. She began her professional career as a post-doctoral research associate soon thereafter. Kanta teaches courses in water resources and fluid dynamics. Her research interests focus on urban water demand management, infrastructure sustainability and resilience assessment and management, evolutionary computation, and agent-based modeling.

Image of Stefan HurlebausHurlebaus, professor, will be awarded the TEES Faculty Fellow Award. He joined Texas A&M in 2005. His research has directly impacted the safety and reliability of infrastructure through better diagnostic techniques, novel mitigation measures to prevent failures due to fatigue and fracture and smart structures to prevent damages from extreme events.

M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering and director of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), will formally recognize all award recipients at the Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet in May.