Nuclear engineering faculty recipients of College of Engineering Faculty Awards

Dr. Sean McDeavitt, associate professor of nuclear engineering and director of the Nuclear Science Center (NSC) at Texas A&M University, and Dr. Ryan McClarren, assistant professor of nuclear engineering and associate director for the Institute for National Security Education and Research (INSER), have been named as recipients of the 2016-17 College of Engineering Faculty Awards.

McDeavitt is the recipient of the George Armistead, Jr. '23 Service Award and McClarren received a TEES Young Faculty Fellow Award.

M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering and director of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), will formally recognize both recipients at the Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet in May.

McDeavittMcDeavitt is the principal investigator and founder of the Fuel Cycle and Materials Laboratory (FCML) within the Department of Nuclear Engineering at Texas A&M. His research interests include nuclear materials science, fuel behavior and processing and high temperature materials science, in addition to other areas of study. The FCML has been a vehicle for more than $15 million in research expenditures since 2006 and has impacted a variety of technical areas. McDeavitt was named the director of the NSC in 2014 and helped to evaluate and develop the safety culture and operating standards employed at the NSC. McDeavitt has served Texas A&M for more than 10 years both in research and teaching roles.



McClarrenMcClarren is a part of the computational methods development research group within the department. His research interests include uncertainty quantification, numerical methods for radiation transport, multiphysics simulation and high performance computing, among other areas of study. McClarren has developed a strong research portfolio in uncertainty quantification and predictive science for computer simulations that has been recognized both nationally and internationally. McClarren also partners with the Nuclear Security, Science and Policy Institute (NSSPI) on work regarding the intersection of science and policy and his contributions have benefitted TEES’ efforts in multidisciplinary research. McClarren has served Texas A&M for eight years both in his efforts to educate others and conduct multidisciplinary research.