Russell honored by CIGRE

Russell, B. DonDr. B. Don Russell, Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, has received the Philip Sporn Award from the International Council on Large Electric Systems (CIGRE) for cumulative career contributions to the advancement of large high voltage electric systems in the United States. Russell is the first Texas A&M faculty member to receive the award.

Russell is an internationally recognized expert in real-time monitoring and analytic methods to diagnose failing apparatus in electric power systems. He holds 15 U.S. patents and multiple foreign patents for his methods to protect power systems and detect abnormal events. Technologies he has developed are widely sold in commercial products.

“Don Russell is an expert in diagnostics for electric power distribution systems and is widely recognized as the world’s leading expert on high impedance fault detection,” said Dr. Miroslav Begovic, head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. “The research team he leads has been credited with many transformational developments that shifted the research focus in our industry. Don has served our department for over 40 years and has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service.”

Russell was previously recognized by CIGRE with its Distinguished Member Award for significant contributions to the work of CIGRE internationally. He was elected to the National Academy of Electric Engineering in 1999, was recently inducted as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors and is a Fellow of six professional societies including the National Academy of Forensic Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).

Texas A&M has recognized Russell with the University Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award in research and named him a Regents Professor. In 2009, Russell was elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor at Texas A&M.

Russell has participated broadly in international activities in over 50 countries. His national service includes president of the IEEE Power and Energy Society, the largest organization of electric power engineers. Russell has received numerous awards including the Outstanding Engineering Achievement Award of the National Society of Professional Engineers and the IEEE Halprin Transmission and Distribution Award.