Kuo elected Fellow of the American Vacuum Society

American Vacuum Society Logo

Dr. Yue KuoDr. Yue Kuo, professor and holder of the Dow Chemical Professorship in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been elected a Fellow of the American Vacuum Society (AVS). The Fellow designation is the highest level of membership in AVS, and recognizes members who have made sustained and outstanding scientific and technical contributions in research, engineering, technical advancement, academic education or managerial leadership.

Founded in 1953, AVS is an interdisciplinary professional society that supports networking and collaboration between academic, industrial and governmental sectors. AVS members come from a wide variety of disciplines including chemistry, physics, biology, mathematics, engineering and business.

This is just the latest in a long line of achievements for Kuo. In February of 2015, Kuo was awarded the Gordon E. Moore Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Science and Technology by the Electrochemical Society (ECS). Also in 2015, Kuo was elected vice president of ECS. In addition to these honors, Kuo has authored or co-authored two separate articles that are among the top 5 most-cited solid state articles in the journal ECS Transactions.