Texas A&M, University of Cyprus co-organize workshop on cyber-physical systems and advanced materials

A&M and Cyprus workshop

The College of Engineering at Texas A&M University and the School of Engineering at the University of Cyprus recently co-organized the workshop, “Recent engineering advances in cyber-physical systems, advanced materials for energy applications and water/wastewater/environmental management systems,” in Limassol, Cyprus. 

The workshop was the result of an MOU between Texas A&M and the University of Cyprus, under the leadership of M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering at Texas A&M.

The workshop brought together researchers from the University of Cyprus, Texas A&M, Texas A&M University at Qatar and other Cyprus universities to discuss the latest research advances in the areas of smart grid systems, advanced materials for energy applications and energy/environment. Attendees represented institutions that have proven strengths in these areas.

Additionally, the workshop aimed to establish and strengthen collaborations among the participating researchers/universities and explored venues in which to further advance these collaborations.

Keynote speaker for the event was Dr. P.R. Kumar, Distinguished Professor and Engineering Chair in Computer Engineering at Texas A&M. Kumar spoke on cyber-physical systems.

Workshop chairs included Dr. Andreas Polycarpou, holder of the James J. Cain Chair in Mechanical Engineering, Meinhard H. Kotzebue ’14 Professor and head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M, and Dr. Christoforos Hadjicostis, dean of engineering at the University of Cyprus. 

The advisory committee for the workshop included: Dr. Robin Autenrieth (civil engineering); Dr. Miroslav Begovic (electrical and computer engineering); and Dr. Narasimha Reddy  (electrical and computer engineering).