Polycarpou appointed James J. Cain Chair in Mechanical Engineering

Polycarpou _andresM. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, has appointed Dr. Andreas A. Polycarpou the James J. Cain Chair in Mechanical Engineering in recognition of his exceptional record as a researcher and educator. The endowed chair appointment is effective May 1.

James J. Cain ’51 established the chair in 2013 through his gift given by his estate to the Texas A&M Foundation. Cain received his bachelors in mechanical engineering in 1951 and passed away in July 2015.

Polycarpou, who is also the Meinhard H. Kotzebue ’14 Professor, is the head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University. He joined the Texas A&M engineering faculty in December 2012. Polycarpou received his bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D., all in mechanical engineering, from State University of New York at Buffalo.

His research interests include tribology, nanotechnology, microtribology related to miniature systems, magnetic storage, surface characterization, friction/vibration interaction, system dynamics and modeling and experimental design and instrumentation.

Specifically, he studies micro/nanotribology of magnetic head disk interfaces and microelectromechnical systems. Recent emphasis has been on the tribology of devices for reduced energy and improved environmental-related impact, such as the use of carbon dioxide as a natural refrigerant and the use of surface treatments toward oil-lees machine operation.

Polycarpou is the author of more than 130 archival journal papers, numerous book chapters, volume proceedings, a dozen patents and numerous conference papers. 

"I know how much Texas A&M and the Department of Mechanical Engineering meant to Mr. Cain," Polycarpou said. "His support of our department is tremendous in allowing us to continue enhancing the quality of education we provide our students. For my part, I will endeavor to do my best to uphold the respect, integrity and Aggie spirit of Mr. Cain as holder of the James J. Cain Chair."