Three engineering faculty members receive AFS Distinguished Achievement Awards

AFS Distinguished AA

AfslogoThree engineering faculty members are among 24 faculty and staff members who have been selected to receive the 2016 Texas A&M University Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award.

Dr. Melissa A. Grunlan from the Department of Biomedical Engineering was selected for teaching, Dr. Kyle T. Alfriend from the Department of Aerospace Engineering was selected for research and Dr. I. Yucel Akkutlu from the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering was selected for student relations.

The university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to more than 1,000 professionals who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

A complete list of recipient can be found here. More about the awards can be found online.

The 2016 Distinguished Achievement Award will be formally presented at 1:30 p.m. on April 25 during ceremonies in Rudder Theater on the Texas A&M campus. In recognition of their achievements, each recipient will receive a cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.