Han named Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

JhDr. Je-Chin Han, Distinguished Professor and the Marcus C. Esterling Chair in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been named a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

AIAA confers the distinction of Fellow upon individuals in recognition of their notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences or technology of aeronautics and astronautics.

“AIAA Honorary Fellows and Fellows represent the best of the aerospace community,” said AIAA President Jim Albaugh. “These individuals have advanced the state of the art of aerospace science and technology, making unique contributions to the profession. AIAA congratulates the members of the 2016 Class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows on their selection.”

The induction ceremony for the Fellows will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on June 15 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C.

Han joined the faculty at Texas A&M in 1980 as an assistant professor of mechanical engineering after serving as a senior research engineer at Ex-Cell-O Corporation in Walled Lake, Michigan from November 1976 to August 1980.

He was named a Distinguished Professor in September 2006.

Han has been a pioneer in the area of high temperature gas turbine blade cooling research that has greatly impacted the modern development of high efficiency gas turbine engines for both aircraft and land-based power generation applications.

Han’s research interests are in thermal fluid sciences and energy and power technology.

His research in thermal fluid sciences includes: heat transfer and cooling in gas turbines; heat transfer enhancement; heat transfer in rotating flows; film cooling in unsteady high turbulence flows; mini-scale heat transfer; combustion system heat transfer; and advanced CFD and experimental methods.

Han’s research in energy and power technology includes: advanced hydrogen turbine for clean power; advanced gas turbine for aircraft propulsion and vehicle transportation; micro-turbine; and clean and renewable energy technology.

Previous awards received by Han include: ASME Heat Transfer Division 75th Anniversary Medal (2013); ASME K-14 Warren Rohsenow Prize for Best Paper (2007); ASME IGTI Certificate Award for Valued Service as Chair of the Heat Transfer Committee (2004-2006); AIAA Thermophysics Award (2004); the International Symposium of Rotating Machinery Award in Heat Transfer (2004); and ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the Art Category (2002).

Han received his bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from National Taiwan University and his master’s degree, also in mechanical engineering, from Lehigh University. He earned his doctorate in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry.