Guiseppi-Elie selected for Fulbright Specialists project

Guiseppi-ElieAnthony Guiseppi-Elie, TEES professor and head of the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project at Universidad Nacional de Tucumán (UNT), Facultad de Ciencias Exactas y Tecnología (FACET) in Argentina during the 2015 fall semester by the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Guiseppi-Elie will work in the areas of technology transfer for the creation of business spin-offs from scientific developments and on interdisciplinary instruction in nanotechnology, nanobiosensors and tissue engineering.

Guiseppi-Elie is one of more than 400 U.S. faculty members and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities to prominent U.S. faculty members and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

Prior to joining Texas A&M this year, Guiseppi-Elie served as professor of life sciences and chemical engineering and professor of emergency medicine at Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia and later as professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, professor of bioengineering, and professor of electrical and computer engineering at Clemson University where he was the Dow chemical professor and directed the Center for Bioelectronics, Biosensors and Biochips.

His research interests are in engineered bioanalytical microsystems in the service of human health and medicine, and he has been principal investigator on more than $20 million in funding of sponsored programs, gifts, and contracts including a recent $3,280,000 award from the U.S. Department of Defense.

He is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and the Royal Society of Chemistry, a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, a lifetime member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and holds memberships in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Chemical Society, the Materials Research Society and the Biomedical Engineering Society.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Throughout its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty members and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. More than 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields. 

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are: Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, chairman of the board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include: Mahmoud Ayoub, professor of religion at Temple University; Heidi Hartmann, president and CEO of the Institute for Women's Policy Research; Percy R. Luney, Jr., dean and professor in the College of Law at Florida A&M University; and Emily Vargas-Barone, founder and executive director of the RISE Institute.

About the Department of Biomedical Engineering

Committed to solving the world’s greatest health problems through the exploration of new ideas, integrated research and innovation, the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Texas A&M is producing the next generation of biomedical engineers, developing new technologies and new jobs, and achieving revolutionary advancements for the future of health care. The department has unique strengths in regenerative medicine, medical augmentation, molecular diagnostics/theranostics, tele-health, and precision medicine, and its faculty members are internationally recognized with collaborative relationships that span engineering, physical and natural sciences, medicine and veterinary sciences.


For further information about the Fulbright Specialists Program, please contact or consult