Top undergraduate chemical engineering awards presented

Sixty undergraduate students from the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering will graduate from Texas A&M University Thursday, May 14, among which over 40 percent will walk the stage with honors. 

Dr. M. Nazmul Karim, department head and T. Michael O'Connor Chair II, and Dr. Victor Ugaz, the Charles D. Holland '53 Professor and director of the undergraduate program, presided over the morning awards ceremony that included a presentation of accolades to top-performing students. 

Danielle Cope (below, with Karim) received the Outstanding Senior Award, recognized for her demonstration of combined leadership, academic excellence and service. 


Senior plant design team awards were presented in the following rankings:
1st place: Bryan Bentley, Chadley Box, Kyle Croft, Erik Maki and Bryan Zahner
2nd place: Danielle Cope, Kymberly Juettemeyer, Carlye Longtin and Leigh Martin
3rd place: Kyle Bowen, Spencer Eggen, Adaora Ofoegbu-Johnson and David Quiroz

Michael Li and Tasnim Mohamed received Undergraduate Research Scholars distinctions. 

The recipient of the Omega Chi Epsilon Award was Sarah Clement, recognized for her demonstration of combined academic performance and service to the chemical engineering honor society. 

John Rogers received the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award that honors exceptional involvement and achievements in undergraduate research activities. 

Four students each received the Academic Excellence Award that recognizes students with the highest GPAs of the graduating class (Spring 2015): Kyle Bowen, Jason Chern, Matt Milanowski and Anna Ryan.  

In April, graduate student Aashish Priye was named a Texas A&M Distinguished Graduate Student by the Association of Former Students at Texas A&M.

Faculty member Doug White (below), senior lecturer, received the 2015 Teaching Excellence Award in a ceremony earlier in the month.