Engineering Program recognizes and honors chair and professorship appointments

The Texas A&M Engineering Program recently invested 20 new chair and professorship appointments for the 2015-2016 academic year, in addition to recognizing current chair holders and professorships. The event was held April 19 at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center.

Dr. M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, spoke briefly in regards to what investiture means for the university.

“It is among the oldest traditions in academia, with its origins tracing back to British universities honoring those who wear the university’s insignia and regalia, said Banks. “In short, as the preeminent faculty members among our ranks, you are key to the success of Texas A&M Engineering.”

Engineering faculty who were awarded the new designation of a chair or professorship were presented with bronzed medallions. The medallions symbolize the honorees’ commitment to teaching, research and service. 

“We are extremely fortunate to have an abundance of faculty members who stand shoulder-to-shoulder with their peers at the top institutions in the world,” said Banks. “As holders of chairs and professorships, each of you are on the leading edge of this important charge and you are serving us well.”


New honorees:

Christodoulos A. Floudas – Erle Nye ’59 Chair Professorship for Engineering Excellence

Reza Langari – J.R. Thompson Department Head Chair

Duane A. McVay – Albert B. Stevens Chair Professorship in Petroleum Engineering

Luis San Andres – Mast-Childs Chair in Mechanical Engineering

Rodney Bowersox – Ford Motor Company Design Professorship I 

Satish Bukkapatnam – Rockwell International Professorship

Mark Burris – Herbert D. Kelleher Professorship in Transportation

Hamn-Ching Chen – A.P. & Florence Wiley Professorship I

Dilma Da Silva – Ford Motor Company Design Professorship II

Yu Ding – Mike and Sugar Barnes Professorship

Mark A. Lawley – TEES Research Professorship

Jenn-Tai Liang – John E. and Deborah F. Bethancourt Professorship

Rabi H. Mohtar – TEES Research Professorship 

Alan Needleman – TEES Distinguished Research Professor 

Stratos Pistikopoulos – TEES Distinguished Research Professor

Lawrence Rauchwerger – Eppright Professorship in Engineering

Helen Reed – Edward “Pete” Aldridge `60 Professorship

Peter Rentzepis – TEES Distinguished Research Professor

Hung-Jue Sue – TEES Research Professorship

Victor Ugaz – Charles D. Holland `53 Professorship


Current chair and professorship holders:

Stuart D. Anderson - Zachry Chair in Construction Integration

M. Katherine Banks – Harold J. Haynes Dean’s Chair in Engineering

Maria A. Barrufet – Baker Hughes Chair

Bill Batchelor - R.P. Gregory class of ’32 Chair

Jean-Louis Briaud – Spencer J. Buchanan `26 Chair

Kai Chang – TI Chair in Analog Engineering

Dara W. Childs – Leland T. Jordan `29 Chair

Akhil Datta-Gupta – L.F. Peterson `36 Chair

Edward R. Dougherty, Jr. – Robert M. Kennedy `26 Chair

Costas Georghiades - Delbert A. Whitaker Chair

Kenneth R. Hall – Jack E. & Francis Brown Chair in Engineering

Je-Chin Han – Marcus C. Easterling `30 Chair

A. Daniel Hill - Noble Chair

David C. Hyland - Royce E. Wisenbaker Class of ’39 Chair

John L. Junkins - Royce E. Wisenbaker Class of ’39 Chair in Innovation

M. Nazmul Karim – Mike O’Connor Chair II

Michael J. King - LeSuer Chair in Reservoir Management

P.R. Kumar – Chair in Computer Engineering

Dimitris C. Lagoudas – John & Bea Slattery Chair

F. Barry Lawrence - Leonard and Valerie Bruce Leadership Chair in Industrial Distribution

Dallas N. Little – E.B. Snead ’25 Chair

Robert L. Lytton - Fred J. Benson Chair

Cesar Malave - Sugar and Mike Barnes Department Head Chair in Industrial and Systems Engineering

Mahboobul Sam Mannan – Mike O’Connor Chair I

Binayak Mohanty - College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Chair in Hydrological Engineering and Sciences

Hisham Nasr-El-Din - John Edgar Holt Class of ’27 Chair

John M. Niedzwecki - Wofford Cain Senior Chair in Engineering Offshore Technology

Calvin Parnell – Endowed Chair in Cotton Engineering, Ginning and Mechanization

K.R. Rajagopal - Forsyth Chair in Mechanical Engineering

J.N. Reddy - Oscar S. Wyatt, Jr. Class of ’45 Chair

B. Don Russell, Jr. - Harry E. Bovay, Jr. Chair for the History and Ethics of Professional Engineering

Edgar Sanchez-Sinencio - T-I Jack Kilby Chair in Analog Engineering

William S. Saric - George J. Eppright Class of ’26 Chair

Marlan Scully – TEES Distinguished Research Chair 

Chanan Singh - Irma Runyon Chair

Vijay Singh - Caroline and William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering

Peter P. Valko – Robert Whiting Chair in Petroleum Engineering

Marvin L. Adams – HTRI Professorship

Nancy M. Amato – Unocal Professorship

N.K. Anand - James M. Class of ’12 and Ada Sutton Forsyth Professorship

Kalyan Annamalai -  G. Paul Pepper Class of ’54 Professorship

Robin L. Autenrieth -  A.P. and Florence Wiley Professorship

Perla B. Balbuena - Gas Processors Suppliers Association Professorship in Chemical Engineering

Shankar P. Bhattacharyya - Robert M. Kennedy Class of ’26 Professorship

Thomas A. Blasingame – Robert L. Whiting Professorship

Joseph M. Bracci – A.P. & Florance Wiley Professorship II

Dragomir B. Bukur – Joe M. Nesbitt Professorship

Jerald A. Caton - Gulf Oil/Thomas A. Dietz Professorship

David E. Claridge - Leland T. Jordan Class of ’29 Professorship

Gerard L. Cote - Charles H. and Bettye Barclay Professorship

Aniruddha Datta - J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship in Electrical Engineering

Mehradad Ehsani – Robert M. Kennedy ’26 Professorship I

Mahmoud M. El-Halwagi – McFerrin Professorship in Chemical Engineering

Prasad N. Enjeti - T-I Professorship in Engineering

Sharath Girimaji – General Dynamics Professorship

Yassin A. Hassan – Sallie & Don Davis ’61 Professorship in Engineering

Arul Jayaraman - Ray B. Nesbitt Professorship

Daniel F. Jennings - I. Andrew Rader Professorship

Ibrahim Karaman - Chevron Professorship

Mladen Kezunovic – Eugene E. Webb ’43 Professorship in Electrical Engineering

Yue Kuo – Dow Chemical Professorship

Victor Jorge Leon - Allen-Bradley Professorship

John Mander - Zachry Professorship in Design and Construction Integration

Scott Miller - Debbie and Dennis Segers Class of ’75 Professorship

Robin Murphy - Raytheon Company Professorship in Computer Engineering

Cam V. Nguyen – TI Professorship II in Analog Engineering

Zivko Nikolov, Dow Professor in Process Engineering

Eric L. Petersen – Nelson-Jackson Professorship

Andreas A. Polycarpou - Meinhard H. Kotzebu Class of ’14 Professorship

Robert E. Randall - W.H. Bauer Professorship in Dredging Engineering

A.L. Narasimha Reddy - J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship in Electrical Engineering

William Schneider – Zachry Industry Teaching Program

Taher M. Schobeiri - Oscar S. Wyatt Jr. Professorship

Jorge M. Seminario - Lanatter and Herbert Fox Professorship in Chemical Engineering

Jose Silva-Martinez - T-I Professorship in Analog Engineering

Arun R. Srinivasa – Holdredge/Paul Professorship

Ramesh Talreja - Tenneco Professorship

Valerie E. Taylor - Royce E. Wisenbaker Professorship

Hamid A. Toliyat - Ratheon Professorship in Electrical Engineering

Jennifer Welch - Chevron Professorship

Steven M. Wright - Royce E. Wisenbaker Professorship

Ralph A. Wurbs - Arthur McFarland class of 1905 Professorship in Engineering

Ding Zhu - L.F. “Pete” Peterson Class of ’36 Professorship

Behbood "Ben" Zoghi - Victor H. Thompson Professorship