Wang named Fellow of American Ceramic Society

H _wang

Dr. Haiyan Wang, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been named a Fellow of The American Ceramic Society (ACerS). Wang was one of 16 members elevated to the Fellow status. 

The Fellow designation recognizes ACerS members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences, broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry, or by outstanding service to the Society.

The 2015 class comes from an international cross section of leaders in academia, research labs, industry and government. The new Fellows will be recognized at the ACerS Annual Honors and Awards Banquet in October. The event is part of the Society’s annual meeting.

In 2006, Wang joined the faculty at Texas A&M as an assistant professor and was promoted to associate professor and full professor in 2010 and 2014, respectively. She received a Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from North Carolina State University in 2002.

Wang’s research expertise is on nanostructured ceramic thin films for various applications, including nitride-based materials for microelectronic and optoelectronics, high temperature superconductor coated conductors, ferromagnetic and ferroelectric oxide thin films, perovskite oxides for thin film solid oxide fuel cells, in situ TEM work and others. She has published more than 300 journal articles with a total citation over 6,500 times with an H-index of 39. She has organized 9 symposiums at international conferences and is an active committee member in the American Society of Metals (ASM), American Ceramic Society (ACerS), and The Metals, Minerals and Materials Society (TMS).

Wang is a fellow of ASM International (Class of 2014). Her major awards include the TAMEST O’Donnell Award 2015, ASM Silver Medal Award in 2011, an NSF CAREER Award in 2009, a Presidential Early Career Award (PECASE) in 2008, an Office of Naval Research-Young Investigator Award in 2008, and an Air Force of Scientific Research-Young Investigator Award in 2007

For more visit the ACerS website.