Floudas appointed holder of Erle Nye '59 Chair for Engineering Excellence

Chris _FloudasDr. M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, has appointed Dr. Christodoulas Floudas holder of the Erle Nye ’59 Chair Professorship for Engineering Excellence. The endowed professorship appointment was effective Feb. 1. 

Floudas is the director of the Texas A&M Energy Institute and a professor in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering. He was also named a 2012-2013 Texas A&M University Institute for Advanced Study (TIAS) Faculty Fellow.

Floudas is a world-renowned authority in mathematical modeling and the optimization of complex systems and conducts research in chemical process systems engineering, which is found at the intersection of chemical engineering, applied mathematics and operations research.

He earned his doctorate in chemical engineering from Carnegie Mellon University in 1986 and joined the faculty at Princeton University as an assistant professor later that year. Prior to coming to Texas A&M. Floudas was a professor of chemical and biological engineering at Princeton and served as the Stephen C. Macaleer ’63 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science.