Chemical engineering department holds 2014 holiday reception, awards ceremony

Holiday Reception

In an evening reception Thursday, Dec. 11, the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering celebrated the end of 2014 with a gathering of faculty, staff and their guests at a venue in College Station. 

Dr. M. Nazmul Karim, department head, professor of chemical engineering and the T. Michael O'Connor Chair II, was host for the event that included reflection on the year's successes and hopes for 2015. 

"We have never been more prepared for greatness than we are now," said Karim in opening remarks. 

Individual awards were presented to faculty and staff in the second half of the reception. 

2014 Rayford G. and Jo-Ann T. Anthony Staff Excellence Award ($1,000):
Louis Muniz, Jr. - Facilities Manager
Jamie Patterson - Business Coordinator II

2014 Outstanding Service Award for Staff ($1,000):
Valerie Green - Associate Director, Mary Kay O'Connor Process Safety Center
Katherine Toback - Senior Academic Advisor II
Kidron Vestal - Communications Manager

Green said, "I am humbled and honored by this recognition. I do what I do because it is so easy to do it in an environment full of caring people. I really appreciate working here and will forever treasure this award from my colleagues who I respect and admire."

2014 Outstanding Service Award for Faculty:
Dr. Arul Jayaraman - Professor, Holder of the Ray Nesbitt Professorship, Director of the Graduate Program, Associate Department Head
Dr. Victor Ugaz - Professor, Holder of the Charles D. Holland '53 Professorship, Director of the Undergraduate Program, Associate Department Head

"The department inspires me continually with colleagues who know what it takes to lead with profound care toward a greater future. I am honored to be named among them," Jayaraman said.  

Special thanks was extended to Randy Marek, technical laboratory manager, who will retire following 33 years of dedicated service. Toni Alvarado, assistant to the department head, was honored for her continued support, among and in addition to all staff and faculty in the audience who were corporately commended for professional successes.