Singh receives Professor Visitante Especial award

Chanan SinghDr. Chanan Singh, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, recently received a prestigious award from the Brazilian Research Council.

Singh, interim department head, Regents Professor and Irma Runyon Chair Professor, received a Professor Visitante Especial (PVE) award from the Brazilian Research Council.

The award, based on a competitive research proposal, is for a two-year period and supports collaborative research with faculty members in Brazil. Singh’s collaborators are Professor Carmen Lucia Tancredo Borges from UFRJ-Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro and Professor Mauro Augusto da Rosa from UFSC - Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina.

The goal of this collaboration is to investigate the reliability of the power grid in the presence of high penetration of variable generation sources. This will include examination of safe penetration levels of renewables and examination of cost-effectiveness of reliability enhancement using energy storage technologies. More realistic forecasting of renewable power will be developed and then integrated, and stochastic reliability models of power systems, including variable power generation and energy storage, will be developed at different levels. Based on these models, optimization and control schemes for planning and operations of modern grid systems will be investigated for enhancing the overall system reliability. This collaborative research will provide tools for making informed decisions under uncertainties introduced by the variable energy sources.

Singh is an IEEE Fellow and is internationally recognized as an expert on the reliability and security of power systems. Other honors he has received include the Merit Award by the Probabilistic Methods Applied to Power Systems (PMAPS) International Society, the IEEE Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award, being holder of the J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship II, the Halliburton Professorship, the Dresser Professorship, the University Level Association of Former Students' Distinguished Achievement Award for Research and the University of Saskatchewan awarded him a D.Sc. in 1998 for his research contributions. In 2010, he was the inaugural recipient of the IEEE-PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award.