CSE announces exceptional new faculty

Image of new facultyThe Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University is on the start of a growth period as part of the Dwight Look College of Engineering's 25 by 25 initiative. As part of this plan, we have added five tenure track faculty and two teaching-focused faculty, including our first professor of practice. We also introduce our first Texas A&M University Institute for Advanced Study (TIAS) fellow and two adjunct faculty members.

Join us in welcoming:

Dr. Dilma M. Da Silva as our new department head. Da Silva is dedicated to making the computer science research community stronger and more diverse. She says that she "is excited about joining the CSE community and contributing to its path towards greatness."

Dr. Timothy Alden Davis, a professor and world leader in algorithmic research for sparse matrix computations. Davis comes to us from the Department of Computer and Information Science and Engineering at the University of Florida.

Dr. Aakash Tyagi, our first professor of practice. Tyagi retired from Intel Corporation to return to teaching, which is a passion of his. "I want to bring this passion to Texas A&M in the capacity of a professor of engineering practice and play a role in the formative years of our bright engineering professionals of tomorrow."

Dr. Bruce Gooch, an associate professor in digital humanities. Gooch has a master's and doctoral degree in computer science from the University of Utah. He is well-known for motivating his graduate and undergraduate students, many of whom are now employed with top companies and national labs.

Dr. Jeff Huang, an assistant professor. Huang comes to Texas A&M from the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where he was a postdoctoral research associate working with Dr. Grigore Rosu. Huang is teaching courses in software engineering and is well-known as a guest lecturer in the subject.

Dr. Ruihong Huang, who joins us as an assistant professor in fall 2015. Huang completed her doctoral degree in computer science at the University of Utah under the guidance of her adviser Dr. Ellen Riloff, and is spending this year as a postdoc with Dr. Dan Jurafsky at Stanford. She is looking forward to teaching courses close to her research such as natural language processing and computational linguistics.

Dr. J. Michael Moore '07, lecturer. Moore received his doctoral degree in computer science from our department. He is teaching undergraduate courses in Intermediate Programming and Design, Discrete Structures for Computing, and Design and Analysis of Algorithms.

Dr. Jack Dongarra, our first TIAS Faculty Fellow. Dongarra is the University Distinguished Professor of Computer Science in the Computer Science Department at the University of Tennessee and the director of the Innovative Computing Laboratory, which coordinates and facilitates IT research efforts at the University.

Dr. Gabriel (Gabby) Silberman, an adjunct professor and executive director of technology strategy and university alliances in Dell Research. Silberman said that he intends "to collaborate with my Dell colleagues in recruiting Texas A&M students and sponsoring capstone and other projects as appropriate and subject to budget availability."

Dr. Amy Gooch, now an adjunct assistant professor in CSE. Gooch is a research scientist with the Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute at the University of Utah. She is looking forward to becoming more involved with our department through collaborations with faculty and participation in the Aggie Women in Computer Science organization.

Dr. Catherine C. Marshall,  adjunct professor and recently a principal researcher at Microsoft Research in Silicon Valley, said that this appointment will allow her to collaborate with CSE faculty on research and writing funding proposals with the aim of being a co-principal investigator on grants. Her research interests are in the curation, organization, and analysis of digital information.