Banerjee appointed Leland T. Jordan Career Development Professor

Debjyoti Banerjee

Dr. M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, has appointed Dr. Debjyoti Banerjee the Leland T. Jordan Career Development Professor in Mechanical Engineering in recognition of his many accomplishments and future potential. The endowed development fellowship appointment was effective Sept. 1.

Banerjee is an associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Banerjee received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Los Angeles. He received three master's degrees and was invited to four national honor societies. He attended the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur for his bachelor's degree.

He received the “Morris Foster Fellowship (2007-2008)” from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, the “TEES Select Young Faculty Fellowship (2008-2009)” from the Dwight Look College of Engineering and was designated as a Faculty Fellow at the Mary Kay O’Connor Process Safety Center at Texas A&M University. He received the “2001 Best Journal Paper Award” from the ASME Heat Transfer Division, the “New Investigator Award (2005)” from the Texas Space Grants Consortium, “3M Non-Tenured Faculty” award (’09-’12), the “ASEE/AFOSR Summer Faculty  Fellowship (’06, ’07)” at AFRL, and the  “ASEE/ONR Summer Faculty Fellowship (’09)” at SPAWAR. 

His research interests include thermo-fluidics (multi-phase  flow, boiling-condensation,  thermal  management), micro/nano-fluidics, micro/nano-technology (DPN, SFIL, CNT synthesis), nanofluids (complex fluids), thermal energy storage/solar power and numerical simulations (network models, Finite Elements/ FEA, Computational Fluids: CFD/CHT, molecular dynamics/ MD).