Bukkapatnam recognized for technical innovation


Dr. Satish Bukkapatnam, professor and holder of the Rockwell International Professorship in Industrial and Systems Engineering, received the Award for Technical Innovation in Industrial Engineering from the Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE) at this year’s annual conference in Montreal.

 ipi0352 IIE Award 2014.jpg

                              (Bukkapatnam is third from left holding the award.)

The award recognizes candidates who have distinguished themselves by significantly expanding the body of knowledge associated with a functional area of industrial engineering through a variety of means; establishing or adapting, through work and reputation, a body of knowledge new to industrial engineering so it is accepted theoretically or successfully implemented in industry; or providing exceptional technical leadership in a major interdisciplinary project.

Bukkapatnam’s award recognizes the body of his work as a distinguished researcher and scholar in the area of quality and integrity monitoring of systems that incorporate the abundant variety of current sensor technology. His main research thrust during the last 10 years has been to advance wired and wireless sensor-based dynamic system modeling principles for monitoring and prognostics applications in ultra-precision and nanomanufacturing processes, such as chemical mechanical polishing of semiconductor wafers and synthesis of nanotube composites, systems cardiology and cardiorespiratory dynamics, automotive manufacturing systems, and large infrastructure and lifeline systems.

To date, he has attracted more than $4.6 million in contracts and grants, including 15 National Science Foundation grants where he was the principal investigator or co-principal investigator.

Additionally, Bukkapatnam’s research has produced 124 peer-reviewed publications (71 accepted or published in journals and 53 in refereed conference proceedings), and eight invention disclosures. His work has been the basis for 11 Ph.D. dissertations, 10 master’s theses and included more than 25 undergraduate research scholars.

Bukkapatnam’s awards and honors include 11 best paper/best poster awards and recognition, four invitations to National strategic workshops, and a significant number of awards that include: three faculty fellowships; Alpha Pi Mu-Omega Rho Teacher of the Year Award, 2001; the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) Dougherty Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, 2005; Oklahoma State University (OSU) College of Engineering, Architecture, and Technology (CEAT), Halliburton Outstanding Young Faculty Award, 2011; the OSU Regents Distinguished Research Award, 2011; the Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE) IIE Hamed K. Eldin Outstanding Young IE Educator Award, 2012; the OSU CEAT Halliburton Outstanding (Senior) Faculty Award, 2012; and OSU President’s (inaugural) cup for interdisciplinary research (first place team), 2012.

Bukkapatnam holds a courtesy appointment in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, and is the director of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station's (TEES) Institute for Manufacturing Systems.