Nuclear Engineering 2014 awards and recognition banquet

14066365215_6ca6280b0e_z.jpgOn Monday, April 14, the Department of Nuclear Engineering held its annual Awards and Recognition banquet in the Memorial Student Center. The primary purpose of this event is to highlight achievements of students, faculty and staff, and former students. 


Over 75 attended, including former students, donors, faculty, staff and students. Representing their endowed scholarships were Mr. David Barker '66, Mr. Thomas Jordan '74 and wife Linda, Dr. Marvin Adams and wife Jenny, and Mrs. Marna Stepan '90. 

14063197902_34347b2be5_z.jpgAs part of the program, two former students received a department award. Mr. David Barker '66 and Mr. Ramiro Martinez '50 both were recognized as Distinguished Former Students of the department for 2014. Following the former student awards was the recognition of two retiring faculty, Drs. William Marlow and Leslie Braby. Dr. Marlow retires with 29 years of service, and Dr. Braby with 17 years.


Concluding the evening were the undergraduate and graduate awards, and student organization recognition. Twenty-eight graduate students received fellowships, and 21 undergraduates received scholarships. The department thanked the Alpha Nu Sigma Honor Society, American Nuclear Society, Health Physics Society, Institute of Nuclear Materials Management, and Women in Nuclear.14063196392_66720db98c_z.jpg14063157301_3099b7dc9c_z.jpgFor more photos, visit our Flickr site here